Is that all?

11 Dec

Last time, I told you all about my books– http://wp.me/pSmlk-9Z. Shortly after that post went live, one of my editing clients wrote to me and scolded ‘You didn’t mention your editing!”

I hastened to assure her that I wasn’t ignoring that happy part of my life, as it would comprise the next post. So – here we are. I really enjoy helping others produce the very best book possible, regardless of what kind of book or story that it is. Some things I know absolutely nothing about, so I steer clear of them, but generally, I think I can be of at least some help.

The year 2013 was no exception, as I served in many capacities to various people. The first one was very well written, with a great plot and characters, but on occasion, there were very minor glitches.  This was the second book I’d proofed for this author, who is really very meticulous with her work. Cathy Jo (her pen name) released No More Expectations in September, 2012, but I’m including it here, anyway.

A long-time friend, Adam Naef, decided to publish his three Regency books through Amazon and Kindle, and asked me to proof them which I did. The Lyndale Wager andThe Barbury Hall Murders are full-length stories in their own binding. The other book consists of two novellas: This Indenture & The Final Wager.  Adam really has the Regency era down pat – his favorite author is Clare Darcy.

Since 1998, I’ve been proof-reading stories for an on-line e-zine: originally known as Peridot Books, and now Allegory E-zine, the creation of Ty Drago.  (He’s also printed a couple of my stories!) Ty writes science fiction and mystery novels, plus a wide range of clever short stories. A few years back he came up with a young adult series titled The Undertakers. Early in 2013, he asked me to proof the 3rd of the series before it went off to his agent. Zombies, etc., are not really my bag, but for a great friend?  Sure. Thus I proofed Secret of the Corpse Eater, which will be published in March 2014 by Month9Books. January 1 will see the 50th edition of his e-zine – http://www.allegoryezine.com/

In early February, another multi-book client, Gloria Hanson, published her first book of poetry, cleverly titled  From Sevens to Seventies: The Grandgirls’ Book of Poetry. This is because she enlisted her two granddaughters (Sariaka Melissa Hanson and Lucca Allessandra MacDonald) to contribute some of their poetry as well.  All told, it’s a truly grand and unique venture.

This is the third book of Gloria’s that I’ve been involved with, and each is different from the others. The first one was Zora: The Life of an Ordinary Girl Living in Extraordinary Times, a biography of her Mom, and the second was Late Night Stories, a book of short stories, mostly set around maturing adults.

Another repeat author is Trudy Brandenburg of Columbus, who writes really nifty mysteries in which kayaking plays a major role.  Her protagonist Emma Haines is a fascinating female, formerly an insurance fraud inspector, who after being shot at, decided to start a program to train other inspectors.  The first book last year was Nighthawks on the New River. This year’s title is Peacocks on the Paint, and readers are eagerly clamoring for more!  Now!  If you read one, you can easily see why.

In quite another direction are two books by a friend of several years with several books that I’ve nudged him into ‘getting out there’.  Robert W. Birch is a retired sex therapist, with the most unusual and vivid (off-the-wall) imagination I’ve ever encountered. He writes serious sex therapy books and poetry of all kinds (I’ve not worked on any of these) but also a wide range of fiction – science fiction, mystery, and erotic romance, and some of his books have a blend of all three of these elements, all mixed with a wicked sense of humor. I never know quite what to expect from Dr. Bob, but I’m never bored while working on his books, either! This year I proofed two of them:  Sex is her Specialty and  Rekindled Desire.

Then came another biography, but this one had elements of adventure mixed in, as the author began her tale as an 18-year-old in Hungary in the waning days of World War II. Unplanned Journey by Judy Wallace, is the story of her nearly-unbelievable trek across Austria and Germany, some 1000 kilometers, which she traversed by walking, riding a bicycle, or as a passenger on a boat, train, or US Army jeep! Ms. Wallace then came to the US, and eventually brought her sister and parents here, too. She married and raised a family, but never forgot her Hungarian roots. It’s a fascinating story, to be sure.

And – still in process is Sound of Adventure by a high school pal of mine, Kay Blevins, who achieved her dream of being a Powder Puff Racer. We re-connected a few years ago at our 50th reunion, and with another big one scheduled for next year, we’ll each be able to talk about our books!

All of these books are available (or will be) through Amazon.com or other bookstores, and most of them are also in e-book format.

So, you ask – just what did you do for each of these books? Fair question. Generally, I do light editing (if requested) or just proof-reading for spelling and punctuation. Of course, if something pops off the page yelling at me, I make a note of it, and inform the author. I seldom change anything on my own, as I think it’s best for the author to make such decisions. Although I usually do not do fact-checking, there are those times when something grabs me and I’m compelled to check it out for myself. If I find conflicting info, I point it out to the author. There are times I might make a suggestion regarding a scene or other plot element – to add, delete or move elsewhere.  Other than spelling and punctuation, the next biggest problem is continuity – making sure that blue eyes don’t change color mid-way through the book, or the hero’s name doesn’t change or some other such boo-boo doesn’t escape us and make it into print.

All but two of these books came to me as Word documents attached to an e-mail. At the time Cathy Jo worked at the library next door to where I live. We met for a sunny luncheon in the garden there, and I then took her paper manuscript home with me. I prefer paper, but postage is ridiculous, so an attachment really works just as well for me – and helps keep the cost down.

The other manuscript came in precise tiny (but very legible) handwriting with a Hungarian flavor on legal pad paper.  Ms. Wallace didn’t have access to a computer or e-mail, so I typed it for her. (There is an extra charge for this, however.) She had made notes over several years, and sometimes individual tales overlapped or were out of place in the final narrative, so we worked all that out together. Her photographs were amazingly clear, and easily scanned. Because I also formatted the book for both Kindle and print, we met several times to discuss page size, page color, font choice and size, and other design details.  She liked a photograph I had taken locally, and this was used for her cover. (Same with ‘Late Night Stories’ – one of my photos is on the cover.)

79-collage

If you would like more information about my editorial services, please ask. I’m always happy to explain the process. And, in case you want to get started with your own book, here’s a gift certificate that you can use or send to someone else, if you know someone who might want to try it.  

gift-certificate

Thank you all so much for your comments and support this year, it’s meant a lot to me.  I really appreciate your comments as well as your questions – you keep me busy finding answers!

P. S.  Here’s a happy little footnote to my previous post: my novella The Duke’s Christmas Gift is doing really well – it was up to #22 of the top 100 Regency Kindle best-selling books list! Twice, in fact –on November 5 and 22 — and yesterday, it was up to #21! It goes up and down all the time, I’m truly thrilled by this, and a bit overwhelmed, too. I do hope to have another post before the end of the year, but in case I flub up, I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Joyous and Prosperous New Year! Imagine that. 2014, here we come!

One Response to “Is that all?”

  1. Ty December 16, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    You are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

