Interviews — the personal touch

25 May

Hello – Sorry to be so late posting this week, but when I include links to things, I like to make sure the link is working. And tonight, for whatever reason, one of them wasn’t!

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, I was pleased to have experienced two unusual events, slightly related to each other, but not really. I was both interviewer, and interviewee, for two different pieces about writers and writing.

Many of you know I write for CoolCleveland.com and one of my very favorite things to do for them is interviews. I have interviewed a wide variety of Cleveland folks, usually in the arts in some form or other, but not restricted to that. Frequently, it’s an author of a book somehow related to Cleveland, and usually, the book is published by Gray and Company, a publisher devoted to Cleveland. One of their recent books was by (and about) the long-time Cleveland radio personality Larry Morrow. To my great surprise, I discovered that Larry and I grew up about 20 miles from each other in Michigan, listening to a lot of the same radio gigs and so forth. Then we came (separately) to Cleveland and have been here since. We met for a delightful lunch, and here’s the interview:  http://www.coolcleveland.com/blog/2011/05/larry-morrow-a-legend-in-local-radio/

A day after my lunch with Larry (gee, there’s a title if I ever heard one!) a writer friend called to ask if I’d be willing to be interviewed for an article she was doing for a different Cleveland venue. Of course I said yes, and even though some of what I said ended up on the cutting room floor, it’s still a good article that says what it was intended to say. Here’s the link for this one:

http://www.crainscleveland.com/article/20110509/FREE/305099956

I hope you enjoy them both!  Also, please remember:  Are you a writer nearing the end of the writing portion of a book, and wondering how to find an editor/proof-reader? If so, please send me an e-mail, and I’ll be happy to tell you about my editing services.  Also, I need to remind you that the SPAM filter for WordPress is VERY aggressive, and deletes almost every comment without even giving me a chance to see it first. It’s not adjustable, in any way. If you’ve written a comment that doesn’t appear anywhere, please write directly to my e-mail:  bookmechanic@gmail.com which is also the place for other questions. Thanks!

2 Responses to “Interviews — the personal touch”

  1. Kay Blevins May 27, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Guess I need to get back to the drawing board – actually to be putting words into the computer. Need to stop worrying what I will do when done, but just keep working on getting it all down, and go for self publishing or an online offering. Whew. That obstacle is handled!

    • bookmechanic May 28, 2011 at 2:13 am #

      Good for you! Remember, please — the longest journey begins with a single step! Just put one finger after another on the keyboard and create words. Let them multiply and away you go! Good luck.

      Kelly

Leave a Reply

