Almost a celebration —

30 Sep

This is the 99th posting to my blog. Who knew? Not me, that’s for sure. I’ve had some ups and some downs since this began, as we all do. Fortunately, I think my ups have been more than my downs, and at my age that’s really saying something! (And please don’t ask, I won’t tell!)

While this year has (at least) so far been productive and interesting, it hasn’t been quite all that I’d hoped for, but still, I have accomplished somethings, which is the point of this post. If you believe and have confidence in yourself, you can accomplish a lot, and make more of your dreams come true.

Last year, I published a novella that had been living in my computer since the fall of 1989. The Duke’s Christmas Gift 99-The  Duke coverbecame a Kindle book available to the world on October 1, 2013, and proceeded to imitate a sky-rocket. I’m still in awe of the trajectory of this little book of just under  20,000 words. Within a month of its debut, it was on the Amazon best-seller list for Historical/Regency/fiction. Whoa! It stayed there pretty much through January, rising up to number 19 at one point. Don’t get me wrong. I liked this story very much, once it hatched, but it didn’t fit any of the conventional categories or niches, while it collected innumerable rejection slips. So it hibernated. Furthermore, as a Christmas story, it has sold not less than 5 copies each month since last year—all through the summer months! And that’s not counting the ‘borrows’ made available through Amazon.

Collection-coverMost of my writing output has been in the Regency genre, where the author name on those books is Hetty St. James. Last year’s output included the Duke mentioned above, plus A Castle Cramlye Christmas and Pongo Guthridge Finds Love, which were then published as A Regency Christmas Collection, in two print versions, regular and large print. There was also a novelette (less than 10K words) titled The Elegant Runaways.                                                                          99 - Improbable Duke - cover

This year, I did another novelette, An Improbable Duke, which was a ‘prequel’ to a Regency mystery series I’ve been working on for too long, and haven’t quite managed to get any of the stories ready for publication. But I’m still working on them! Be sure I’ll keep you posted!

99 - Duo cover tilt However, I was still writing, and produced two longer stories (shorter than full-length book, but longer than novella) Bella’s Legacy and Francie’s Feast. These two are now also in print as The Regency Christmas Duo, and as  before, in both regular and large print.

Under my own name, however, came another previously un-published book – Cover MockupAn Intensive Care Guide for the Family. This was co-authored with a neurologist at the Cleveland Clinic – J. Javier Provencio, M.D.  We worked on the book from the fall of 2006 until spring of 2008, but due to the constant upheaval in the publishing world around that time, this book, too, languished. It is now available as a Kindle e-book or a small paperback from Amazon or it may be ordered through your favorite local bookstore.

The point of this post is this: don’t ever give up, keep faith in yourself and your abilities, keep working, and keep your eyes and ears open for new possibilities in this ever-changing world of ours. Success can happen at any time for any reason, and although your definition of ‘success’ may differ from mine, you may still be happily surprised!

Thanks for reading and happy writing!  If you have comments or questions, please write to me at: bookmechanicATgmail.com

Leave a Reply

