Zowie!!! I’m famous!

26 Nov

Well, sort of . . .  on a very small scale!

I’m thrilled to tell you all that today, November 26, 2014, I am a guest on the most listened-to classical music program in America. The program is Performance Today, from American Public Media, and I’m in the Piano Puzzler portion.  This link will let you find my part for several weeks to come.  http://performancetoday.publicradio.org/podcast/piano_puzzler/

then scroll down to November 26. and you’ll see this info. You can listen or download from there on the site, or it’s possible the link/bar below the box will also work. I’m not much of a techie, so it’s hard to know sometimes.
Inline image 2

When I was part of the 2005 NEA/Columbia School of Journalism Fellowship in New York City,  Bruce Adolphe, creator of Piano Puzzler, was one of our lecturers, and he was incredible. You’ll have to listen to see what I mean.  Part of my puzzle was a Beatle’s tune, of all things, and I could not think of the title, but they took pity and gave me partial credit for at least knowing that much!  Of course, initially, although I was close, I also flubbed the composer part. Thanks to a gentle nudge from Bruce I did eventually figure it out, however.

It was really enormous fun, and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!  Thanks to Fred and Bruce for making me feel so at home. Which I was, actually – sitting in my own living room and hoping no low-flying helicopters would choose those minutes to patrol the lake shore, which is less than 500 feet from me!

By the way,  here I am at Carnegie Hall during that 2005 trip. The program we heard featured conductor Gianandrea Noseda, frequently heard on Metropolitan Opera Broadcasts, with pianist Simon Trpčeski, in the most electric performance of Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3 that I’ve ever heard. I still get goosebumps from just remembering that performance. Totally awesome.

I’m very hopeful that my next audio project (in the spring) will be recording my Regency novellas for the audio arm of Amazon (ACX). Not to worry, I’ll keep you all posted.

Kindle CoverAnd one last little nudge, maybe. A friend has just published a sweet, but very sexy novella at Amazon. It’s the story of two actors who meet in an agent’s office, when one of them is there to maybe audition for The Nude Scene, which is the title. It might be considered a ‘hot’ read, because  it does have a lot of sex in it, but none of the icky bad words. Neither of us can read erotica because of the – to us – overuse of some of those words. I hope you’ll try it and let me know what you think. I’ll be happy to relay your comments.

Enjoy your Thanksgiving holiday and weekend. I’ll be back in two weeks!

2 Responses to “Zowie!!! I’m famous!”

  1. Betty (Scappaticci) Kaiser November 26, 2014 at 6:28 pm #

    I listened to the segment and I got it! Not sure why- so I’m amazed.

    • Site Admin November 26, 2014 at 6:53 pm #

      Good for you! Of all the things that I do know, Beatles tunes are not at all well represented! Oh, well. It was really fun!

Leave a Reply

